Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Junior State Championship Wrap Up

Published Wed 10 Jul 2024

The 2024 U12s, U14s and U16s JSC saw 61 teams travel to regional locations to showcase the incredible hockey talent in our Victorian Hockey Community. Bendigo and Shepparton were brilliant host locations across the Tournament, and we hope everyone enjoyed the return to Regional Victoria in 2024!

Congratulations to all the teams the competed at the 2024 JSC. Special mention to the teams and medalists for each age group below.

Under 12 Boys Hockey 5s

Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
North East Red Devils (Red) Eastern Hotshots North West Lightning (Blue)

Highest Goal Scorer – Ryan Woods (Lightning Blue) - 32 Goals

Under 12 Girls Hockey 5s

Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
Western Wildcats North East Red Devils (Red) Central Flames

Highest Goal Scorer – Jade Ashton (Eastern Hotshots) - 23 Goals

Under 14 Boys

Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
North East Red Devils Southern Sharks South West Eagles

Highest Goal Scorer – Kryshant Jiwa Mohan (Red Devils) - 14 Goals

Under 14 Girls

Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
North West Tigers North East Red Devils Western Wildcats

Highest Goal Scorers – Bella Hereford (Red Devils) & Amalia KInton (Tigers) - 5 Goals

Under 16 Boys

Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
North West Tigers Southern Sharks Western Wildcats

Highest Goal Scorers – Nicholas Telfer (Red Devils) - 8 Goals

Under 16 Girls

Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
North West Tigers Western Wildcats Eastern Hotshots

Highest Goal Scorer – Ruby Gorton (Western Wildcats) - 10 Goals


Results and Stats

To check out the Under 14 & Under 16 results, final standings and stats, please use the following links:

Under 14 Boys

Under 14 Girls

Under 16 Boys

Under 16 Girls

For all Under 12 results and stats, please click here and scroll down to the 2024 Junior State Championships section.



The JSC is not possible without our wonderful team of officials.  We had over 50 umpires across the U12s, 14s and U16s tournaments, along with 20 Technical Officials across Bendigo and Shepparton. These were assisted by a strong team of 20 Tournament Directors, Umpire Managers and Umpires coaches who all did a wonderful job.

A special mention to the following:

Under 14 and Under 16 Key Event Officials


Position Name
Tournament Director Rod Tansey
Assistant Tournament Director Stuart McCleary & Ron Holmes
Umpire Manager Jai Brown
Assistant Umpire Manager Morgan Green & Caleb Connor
Umpire Coach Jim Unkles



Position Name
Tournament Director Lyn Page
Assistant Tournament Director Karen Lawrence & Taela Eggers
Umpire Manager Iris Milham
Assistant Umpire Manager Lachlan Robinson & Sam Cutrale


Under 12 Hockey 5s Key Event Officials – Shepparton

Position Name
Tournament Director Karen Lawrence
Assistant Tournament Director Taela Eggers & Angus Curnow
Umpire Manager Nathan McDonald & Steve McDonald
Assistant Umpire Manager Georgina Kennedy & Millar Kay-Kneebone


Medal Match Umpires

Age Group Gold Medal Match Umpires Bronze Medal Match Umpires
Under 12 Boys Hockey 5s Callum Bridge & Mitchell Payne Sandy Allen & Tristan West
Under 12 Girls Hockey 5s Kay-Leigh Jooste & Safiyah Zeinou Tahni Wilson & Charlotte Stevens
Under 14 Boys

Rory McMillan & Oscar Norquay

Cody Ingram (Reserve)

Kay-Leigh Jooste & Ryan Fraser

Jules Ingram (Reserve)

Under 14 Girls

Taj Flentjar &Antonie Hobbs

Hayden Macphie (Reserve)

Brian Collis & Seth Peterson

Heather Anderson (Reserve)

Under 16 Boys

Callum Bridge & Tajwyn Corben

Zac Wickson (Reserve)

Millar Kay-Kneebone & Riley Bell

Finn Castor (Reserve)

Under 16 Girls

Hayden Macphie & Bridie Casey

Taj Flentjar (Reserve)

Alessandro Pezzimenti & Zoe Brown

Brian Collis (Reserve)


Medal Match Technical Officials

Age Group Gold Medal Match Technical Officials Bronze Medal Match Technical Officials
Under 14 Boys

TO – Verity Cavanagh

Judges – Donn Hawthorne & Rochelle Shipton

TO – Carina Ford

Judges – Sally Stevens & Amber Baird

Under 14 Girls

TO – Kerrie Brown

Judges – Kate Davis & Chris Wilson

TO – Daniel Brown

Judges – Angus Curnow & Karen Lawrence

Under 16 Boys

TO – Adrian Hillyer

Judges – Sally Stevens & Gursharan Singh

TO – Amber Baird

Judges – Verity Cavanagh & Carina Ford

Under 16 Girls

TO – Dem Peterson

Judges – Kerrie Brown & Taela Eggers

TO – Angus Curnow

Judges – Daniel Brown & Ray Anderson



We captured a huge range of photographs from both venues. A special thanks must go to Andrew Wiseman, Patrick Rebakis and Greta Hutchings for this.

Be sure to check them all out on Hockey Victoria Facebook in the 2024 Junior State Championships album.

U14/16 Photo Album here

U12 Photo Album here


Live Streaming

In case you missed it, every match on the final day on Pitch 1/Field 1 was streamed on the My Sport Live platform.

Days Streamed include:

U12 Livestreaming – Pitch 1, Field 1 on Thursday, 4th July (gold medal matches)

U14 & U16 Boys Livestreaming – Pitch 1 at Bendigo on Sunday, 7th July (gold medal matches)

U14 & U16 Girls Livestreaming – Pitch 1 at Shepparton on Sunday, 7th July (gold medal matches)

Over the coming weeks, keep an eye out on Hockey Victoria socials for some highlights packages.


Special Acknowledgements

This Event would not be able to take place without the support of several people and organisations. We’d like to thank:

  • City of Greater Bendigo and Hockey Central Victoria for hosting and their event support up in Bendigo.
  • Greater Shepparton City Council and Goulburn Valley Hockey Association for hosting and their event support in Shepparton
  • Our 2024 Event Sponsors, Water Partners and XR Elements. Thank you kindly for your support of the JSC and your relevant Zones for the 2024 event!
  • Best Western Old Maritime Warrnambool for their support of the SW Eagles in 2024.
  • GAME for producing all the wonderful uniforms with the Indigenous Artwork on them.
  • BJ O’Toole (Papul Art) for the wonderful Indigenous artwork that features on the playing shirts, Goalkeeper smocks and Umpire shirts.
  • Damien Saunders and Jason Kerr for their Welcome to Country and Smoking Ceremonies across each location.
  • My Sport Live for making the livestream possible on the Final Days of each location.
  • Phoenix First Aid, for their First Aid support throughout the Event.

  • Gallery